Listening to music has always been important to my writing. Occasionally I’ll need absolute silence to write something important, but generally I’ll have something in the background.

Currently at the moment I’ve been listening a lot to Dario Marianelli’s Jane Eyre OST, it’s melancholic and haunting and fits perfectly in with my current writing mood.

Other favourites include;

-The Piano

-Pride & Prejudice

-Any classical music compilation albums

-The Talented Mr. Ripley

-Drive

-Atonement

{Anything really by Dario Marianelli – he composes the most beautiful pieces of music}

For some reason I can’t write to music that has lyrics, I’m not sure if it’s because I’ll get distracted by the lyrics or just distracted in general, but I tend to stay clear.

So, what do you listen to when you write?

