In 2010 I decided to go back to college and obtain my masters in library and information studies. It was a decision based on, what-the-hell-am-I-going-to-do-with-my-life? I had spent 2009 frolicking around Australasia and generally not having a care in the world. It was bliss. And I knew it.

But upon arriving back into the middle of a recession, and the worst recession ever, didn’t bode so well. I tried unsuccessfully to get a job, dozens upon dozens of CVs were handed out. But nothing. Not a peep from anyone. So I decided to go back to college and pray for better prospects there. My time in college was fabulous, I loved every second of it. It was so nice to use my brain again and be studious.

Fast forward to a year later. I was very bloody fortunate to finish college and pretty much get a job straight away. Now it was a part time job, but it was in a library, so that made me happy. However a year is almost over and I’m still in my part time job that I enjoy immensely but that pays pretty shite.

So I constantly have no money. Anything I want I have to save for a long long time. Part of the reason I’m burdening on you, dear readers, is highlighting the costs that it takes to self publish.

Between domain names, editors, proof readers, cover designers and what not, it’s a long expensive trip. At the moment I’m in the negative when it comes to money, and so will have to spend the next few months living hand to mouth. But I figure it will be worth it in the long run, I’ll have a piece of work in the public domain that I will be incredibly proud of. Sure my friends may moan that they might not see me any longer, but it’s a risk I’ll have to take if I want to meet my deadline.

I reached a very important goal today. I reached 40,000 words on Solace. Of which I am absolutely unbelievably proud. The last 13000 words seemed to have just flown out of my fingertips and onto the screen. Here’s hoping the next 20000 do the same. I’ve given myself a goal of 60000 words to reach, and hopefully will do so, if this novel wants to see completion.

